According to me…..

Recovering Love


I went to the movie screening for Recovering Love.  It’s a SkyWorks production… produced and directed by Laura Sky.  She is one phenomenal, classy lady.

It was downtown at the Royal Theatre.


The movie is about how to relate to people that you love who are addicts.

*a documentary about women who are deeply committed to their relationship with their children and who are also committed to recovery from their addictions. It is a film that will educate the heart as well as the mind. Recovering Love will focus on the loving bonds between these mothers and their children.

In preparing this film, we have been working with women who are recovering their love for themselves, and building their capacities to love and support each other. They have benefited tremendously from the love and support of their families, co-workers, front line advocates and their communities.*

It’s a very powerful movie.  The basic themes throughout the movie were unconditional love.  And the fact that addicts have one thing in common.  Unexpressed pain.  To deal with addiction, one must first find out what the core, the root of the problems are.  Approximately 80 – 100% of women addicts are massively hurt by experiences that were never dealt with properly.    The format is interviews with all the women that are undergoing addiction recovery, and their families.  We hear what the women feel, how they cope and what their struggles are.  We hear how their children feel.  The amazing thing was that when the children spoke it was always with love and concern and pride for their mothers.   The love was tangible…from both children and mothers.

I cried during this show a couple of times.  Everyone did.

At the end all of the people from the movie went to the stage.  They were all there, in real life!  What an amazing, touching moment.  They were cheered for their strength and courage.  The movie was so raw, and true that you felt you knew these women after watching it, so seeing them standing there with some of the children was incredible.


For anyone that has a person in their lives trying to cope with addiction, this movie is for you.  Everyone around an addict is affected no matter how hard one tries to hide it.   I went to see it because I have a dear, lifelong friend who is struggling now.  She is an incredible, smart woman who has  a lot of love in her.  To meet her now you may not believe that…but I see her in there and I’d like to see her happy again.  I wanted to know how to handle this.  I thought it was going to be more of a guide, a how-to. lol  Like directions for life.

What I got was that I owed her an apology.  The women in the movie taught me that if someone puts out their hand for help, take it.  Show them love and be gentle.  I haven’t always done this for my friend.  I get frustrated.  So I told her, after I saw it, that I love her…. and I’m glad I did, that she knows.

For more information click HERE.

Comments on: "Recovering Love" (4)

  1. Amanda said:

    I would like to THANK YOU for the kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed the film, my name is Amanda. My son and I took part in the making of this film and I am so happy with the end product. I myself cried when I watched it, I am so happy to have gotten a copy from Laura so I can watch it when I get feeling like I need a refresher. I hope this film helps many and educates even more, people need to know that those struggling with addictions are not bad people and there is ALWAYS HOPE!!!
    Amanda

    • Hi Amanda! I’m so thrilled you stopped by and found this! I loved it!! Isn’t Laura wonderful?
      I loved the strength and courage of all the people in this film… and the love. What a terrific message you all put together!
      I know many folks dealing with addiction and they are such great people. 🙂 No one wakes up and decides to become an addict… 🙂
      I wish you all the luck in the world. I know it’s a hard road, but it can be done. I’m so *proud* of you.. lol I know… it’s a word that
      people usually reserve for someone they are I guess related to..but I do feel proud… I think what you did is phenomenal. I cried, too.. so did my friend
      who came with me. And to get to see you all after was just amazing – it added a whole new dimension to the whole thing.. made it so much more personal.
      Continue on your path with love, and may you always have such courage, heart and strength! You are an inspiration!
      Tracy.

  2. onemomtalking said:

    Thanks for this review! There is a wide support community here on the blogs of moms, dads, siblings of heroin addicts. I will watch the movie on a strong day 🙂 God bless!

    • I’m glad you found it. 🙂 Thanks for coming by and I think that you have to call Skyworks to find out where it’s playing.
      It’s a non profit kind of film. 🙂 You take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

