According to me…..

Niagara Falls


So we went on a day trip to Niagara Falls on Monday… what a great day, simply splendid!!

First of all we hit Brock’s Monument.  We indulged in all sorts of history, and snuck in a try of some jackets I’m pretty sure we weren’t supposed to touch!  lol  Sir Isaac Brock led the last attack of Canadians, British, Natives against the States – in the war of 1812 and he died…but they ended up succeeding… giving Canada and the States nearly two hundred years of a peaceful border… come 2012… the longest ever.  He is buried beneath this monument…. although… maybe not.  In 1840 the original was destroyed by a terrorist bombing and they rebuilt it..so maybe he is still at the original  location, which was much closer to the edge of the ravine – where the Americans tried to invade.  And Laura Secord walked for 18 hours to warn her husband of an impending attack here…. I never knew that.  Why do we make Laura Secord chocolates?  lol  What is the relationship there???

Sir Isaac Brock's Monument
Sir Isaac Brock’s Monument

Next we meandered over to Niagara on the Lake for lunch… simply lovely!  There was a statue of George Bernard Shaw at the restaurant we ate at called Oban Inn…. just a lovely place.

George Bernard Shaw
George Bernard Shaw
Oban Inn
Oban Inn

But this was my most favourite thing about Niagara on the Lake. lol

More Shops. lol
More Shops. lol

Next was the flower clock…but I must say that this sign was pretty good too. lol  We were heading towards one of the bridges to the states. lol  I’m not sure why, but the idea of cycling to the States tickles me. lol

And the clock!

Flower Clock
Flower Clock

Angie and I

Angie and I

From there we headed over to the Butterfly Conservatory.  Well, that was odd.  Such beautiful butterflies, all colors.  Some would come and sit on humans….overall?  Too many for my liking… there were bazillions of them flying all over… into you, around you… a little creepy. lol  But they grow them there and they’re quite beautiful.  We even saw two blue ones mating…little afternoon delight.  😉

Afternoon Quicky
Afternoon Quicky
Sign Doesn't Say We Can't Eat the Oranges!
Sign Doesn’t Say We Can’t Eat the Oranges!

Next was – yay – Niagara Falls!!!!  And we did the Maid of the Mist!  What a glorious, powerful experience.  I’ve been in Canada since I was 8, a couple of years. lol  And I’ve never done this!  I highly recommend it for anyone that loves nature and the power of water…it was a little overwhelming in it’s beauty… and well worth the waiting and walking to get in there..even worth the money. 🙂   To be honest it wasn’t a long wait.. the boats went out every 15 minutes.  This is only some of the water – the rest is going into hydro power… the area is steeped in history… a simply wonderful experience.

Walking down to the boat!
Walking down to the boat!

Now this used to be the old hydro system…but it’s not used now…so much.  And it’s something you don’t see when you are in Canada looking over at the falls.  I never knew it was there, all these years…but I guess the folks in the states see it all the time.  The States tried to do the same thing further on down the falls, but the land always collapsed, and so they never could maintain a power source from the falls.

The Old Hydro System
The Old Hydro System

After this we hit the Skylon…but it was closed for lunch…it’s a restaurant that turns as you eat and you overlook the falls.

Skylon
Skylon

Since this was closed we headed over to the main strip of the falls… some very interesting things we did discover. lol

Haunted Houses!
Haunted Houses!

We got pix of ourselves on a Harley here… lol  WE WISH!!!

Harley Davidson Shop!
Harley Davidson Shop!

I WISH!

I WISH!

And then it was time for a wind down – dinner and a drink…and just in time as it got chilly then!  And apart from the service sucking big time, it was still wonderful!

Ruby Tuesday
Ruby Tuesday

Comments on: "Niagara Falls" (3)

  1. Looks like you had an amazing day!

    How far are you from Niagara falls? I hope you cycled !

    Great photo’s mate
    Respect and Peace!
    @

    • It was a superb day! And no, lol I didn’t bike there… the two of us bike, but we had someone else with us who doesn’t and he owns a car…. it was my friend’s friend. It’s two hours by car from here. lol A few days before my friend and I did bike for three hours, so I suppose we could do it if we wanted. 🙂 And they have lovely bike paths there! 🙂

      Thanks about the photos… I took 585 so it was hard to choose what to add!! I also got videos of the falls from on the Maid of the Mist (the boat that goes almost right under them!) It was exhilarating! To say the least!

      Have yourself a smashing day, please! Always wonderful to hear from you!
      T.

    • I added a couple of pix..more personal ones… with me in them. lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

