According to me…..

Rights


Some things I’ve been thinking on lately.  Do you know what your rights are?

Do you know that you have the right to say *no*?  And that you don’t have to explain it?  *No* is a full sentence.

Do you know you have the right to feel safe?  And if you don’t feel safe you can remove yourself from the situation.

It may come as a surprise to some of you, but these rights are not inherently known for a lot of people.  We know what we are brought up knowing, or what we learn.  I had to learn these things, and what an eye opener it was!  These are valuable things to know and sometimes I need to remind myself of them.

Serenity Coat Of Arms by Kelly Krogman
Serenity Coat Of Arms – by Kelly Krogman


Personal Bill of Rights.


1. I have the right to make my own decisions.

2. I have the right to use my own judgment.

3. I have the right to say “no” without feeling guilty.

4. I have the right to feel anger and express it appropriately.

5. I have the right to make mistakes.

6. I have the right to be treated as a capable human being.

7. I have the right to feel and express love and affection.

8. I have the right to have my needs be as important as others’.

9. I have the right to my feelings.

10. I have a right to ask for what I want.

11. I have the right to change my mind.

Author N/A

Rainbow Squadron Serenity Personal - by Kelly Krogman
Rainbow Squadron Serenity Personal – by Kelly Krogman



Relationship Bill of Rights


1.  The right to emotional support.

2.  The right to be heard by your partner and to be responded to with courtesy.

3.  The right to have your feelings and experiences acknowledged as real and valid.

4.  The right to clear and informative answers to questions that concern you.

5.  The right to live free from criticism and judgment.

6.  The right to live free from accusation and blame.

7.  The right to encouragement.

8.  The right to live free from emotional and physical threat.

9.  The right to be respectfully asked, rather than “ordered”.

10.  The right to goodwill from your partner.

11.  The right to live free from angry outbursts and rage.

Author N/A

Rainbow Squadron Serenity Final - By Kelly Krogman
Rainbow Squadron Serenity Final – By Kelly Krogman

Comments on: "Rights" (4)

  1. Thanks @dam! 🙂

    Not only should we not forget that these are our rights, but we shouldn’t forget to allow the same to those we love. 🙂

    I like to remind myself of these not only as a reminder of what rights I have, but also – as a reminder that I need to treat others with the same respect and decency. AND I need to ensure that folks aren’t stepping over me and I’m allowing it – these don’t all come naturally to me and it’s so easy to slide back into what you know… 🙂

    Kelly is one of the MOST talented artists I know! His creativity astounds me. 🙂 Whenever he comes up with something new I get to see it… and I’m always awed. 🙂 I don’t know where it comes from, and I’m jealous. LOL 🙂
    He is my blood brother. 🙂 We’re related by choice and ceremony and heart…I am indeed, very lucky. 🙂

    Have a wonderful day, Sir @dam and thanks for popping in! 🙂

    • You, your family and friends are so cool and I have the utmost respect for you all and the love that you show each other.

      Respect and Peace!
      @dam.

      • Aw, thanks for much!

        I love them all too! 🙂 I’m lucky!

        BUT I have a feeling you and yours are the same way and that’s awesome! 🙂

        Stay you @dam! If your each and every post isn’t a good indication, I don’t know what is!!!! R and P!! 🙂

  2. This is an awesome post Sis!!

    These are the things we should remember as our rights empower us, yet we so readily forget them or let others take them away from us!

    We should never forget how many people died protecting our freedoms and how valuable freedom is.

    It’s a great shame that many governments frown upon freedom of speech and try so hard to deny people their rights!

    Love this and the graphics are amazing too! You indeed have a great friend in Kelly.

    Respect and Peace!
    @dam.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

