According to me…..


Today a couple of us from the Health and Strength Action group attended the farmer’s market.  They gave us a table AND a tent!  Our very own to use!  🙂  It was really great.  We were handing out our fliers and trying to raise awareness.

Jack Layton stopped by… he says he was involved with the South Riverdale Community Health Centre when it first opened and he helped start a food program there… I’ll have to research this further. lol  (INSERTED LATER:  And I did!  Click Here! )  He was the only person to sign our sheet (well, his *aide* did), requesting more information AND invited us to his free annual free BBQ in the same park (Withrow Park) for Sunday, August 29th!  Noon until four.  He said we could do the same thing there, handing out fliers and telling people about our cause.  I’m actually quite impressed.  I was all feisty, thinking he was not going to be *with us*.  lol I advanced on him with a hands on hips attitude.  LOL

Jack Layton

Jack Layton


It was rather funny.  On my left was a table brought by Ralph Thornton centre – the Riverdale Food Working Group, and they are partnered with us at South Riverdale.  They were trying to raise money by selling products that volunteers had made.  Jams and salsa and such!  Yummy!  And on my right was a table by St. John’s – the Compassionate Mission, where I volunteered for a year, feeding folks!  So I was surrounded by groups that I work with. 🙂

Riverdale Food Group - with Ralph Thornton

Riverdale Food Group - with Ralph Thornton


We did notice that we weren’t getting as much attention as the other tables, even though they placed us right in the middle and we’re thinking that it’s because we didn’t have any goodies to offer… something to keep in mind for next time!  It IS, afterall, a farmer’s market and people come for food. 🙂

All in all, a great day!

My new bag, I tested it, it worked. lol

My new bag, I tested it, it worked. lol

Comments on: "Farmer’s Market" (2)

  1. Nice One T – keep up this good work mate!

    That was nice of Mr Layton to invite you to his function, he could be a useful Allie.

    Respect and Peace!
    @dam.

    • You BETCHA! I have to check into his story though of being so involved… we’ll see. lol I’m still sceptical – freakin’ politicians. 😦

      I hope so anyway! It looks good… and now that he signed our sheet and invited us – I feel the need to publish that fact and use it a lot! lol 🙂

      Mwa ha ha!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

