According to me…..

Pit Bulls.


Ok, I’m an animal lover.  I think that they are spectacular.  Just like having all the different races, religions, sects… everyone, all of us.  We, together make life wonderful – every living being has it’s place.  I used to say that I didn’t see color in people.  I loved who I loved without abandon and with my heart for who they were.. but I’ve realized ( a few years ago) that this attitude is just as bad as being racist, sexist, ageist…whatever.  BECAUSE… lol….people from different places, and beliefs bring something wonderful to the table.  I love it.  I love everything I learn about different cultures and people and languages.  Saying that I don’t see color is like negating them.  I’m so on a tangent now. lol  K…back to animals… the one thing I cannot support?  Pit Bulls.  I know they have a right to life as everything else does… but people have them and treat them wrong and they bite…but they don’t JUST bite, they can’t let go!!  And children are getting bitten.  I just can’t do it.  When I see them on the street I don’t think…aw…sweet puppy, I get nervous.  I would love to love them and support them, but I have children (grown up now) and I’ve felt the terror of those dogs nearing my child(ren)… and these dogs terrify me.  I think Rottwiellers have the same effect on me…but only because one bit me.  I love dogs.. really, I do.  I remember years ago, German Sheppards had the same label.  They were fierce..but we don’t hear that now.  Maybe it will be the same with pitbulls…but for now?  I agree they should be banned.  I think that sometimes, animals are animals.. they do what they know and it’s inherent.

Ok, I’m done. lol – no, no I’m not. lol

Should muzzles be enforced on all dogs when they are outside?  They have to put muzzles on Pits in Toronto already.  I feel so bad for them, though… they’re animals… they should be free and yet humans put contraptions on their faces.. can’t make going for a walk much fun.

And I agree – even from the owner’s point of view – they should all wear them.  When people would ask if they could pet my dog I would say no… she was very friendly, but she was a dog.  And dog’s bite.  lol  You never know when or why – what sets them off.  So why chance it?  Your dog is put down if it bites someone…

But that aside…. when they are at home – if there are children… and especially children with faces that are level with a dog’s face… if a dog chooses to bite them – the child will squeal, or scream…and now they’ve become a squeaky toy… and prey… and if it’s a pit – they can’t let go if they even want to – and you can’t make them.

They just plain scare me.  I saw one once on a talk show…the owner was dangling it off a branch… it bit the branch and couldn’t let go. Shudder.

Comments on: "Pit Bulls." (2)

  1. Well, Alfie looks like a tiny wee fella. lol Adorable… but it’s one of the things they tell you when you are training a dog… never leave the dog with the kids unattended.
    I was only bitten once and it was just a couple of years ago. I was so scared I didn’t even dare use mace on him…for fear it would just piss him off more. lol The owner comes out with a child on her hip – about two years old. Tells me that her dog never does this, he didn’t in fact even bite me (lol) and the animal control folks just gave them a warning. I did see this dog running out and about one time after that – and since heard he was removed from their home… probably for not biting someone else. lol I pointed out to this woman that her child’s face was the approximate height of my arm where it bit me. And then told her what I think would happen if her dog bit her child… still – she would not budge on her opinion… pfft.
    I’ve seen young teens with pits and they are antagonizing them, hitting them with newspapers and such, getting them feisty and in the mood for a fight… now I don’t say it’s all youths that do this. I’m sure adults do it too…and not all owners do it – but all in all… one child being saved is worth the banning to me. And it would be to everyone if it was their child in question!!!

  2. Totally agree with you, some dogs are just plain dangerous and that fact mixed with irresponsible ownership, usually ends up in disaster. We have exactly the same problem in the UK, Rottweilers, Pits and Staffordshire bull terriers are desirable by young people, the majority of which see them as a status symbol and a sign of strength! lol.

    I’m sure when treat well they make lovely pets, but any dog can turn, just the fact that these dogs are so vicious and hard to control when they lose it, makes them highly dangerous and intimidating. I too cross the road if i see one of those breeds, especially if i have the kids with me!

    I remember being bit as a 7 year old in the leg, I was riding my bike with an ice-cream lol and this dog came from nowhere and got me, I had shorts on and he got me good, but he let go when I chucked the ice-cream at him. phew! We now, 30 years later, have our first pet dog, Alfie and he’s adorable, but I don’t trust him with other kids. He’s fine with ours but he gets very agitated with others, so he’s always on a leash when we go out. Respect and Peace!
    @dam

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

