According to me…..

The Kiss


Coffee?   (Just?)

Not sure I should, not sure I shouldn’t.

We do.  We meet.

Coffee is warm, full, sweet.  Hazelnut, cinnamon, and chocolate sprinkles.

The atmosphere congenial, chatty, comfortable – ostensibly.

Idle chatter in circles, avoidance – by both.

Neither willing to look too deeply into the other’s soul.

Fear it’s gone, or fear it’s there?  The beast may wait – who is to know?  Why loose it?

Awkward goodbyes, lean slightly in, shuffle slightly away – stammering apologies and hearts.

A quick, sneaky, last minute kiss.  Warm, full, sweet.  Dash!

The beast – it lays still within – all are safe.          Right?

CTM – March 25 – 2010

Comments on: "The Kiss" (5)

  1. Aw, thanks Daisy. 🙂
    I guess that the real moment struck me as such and stayed with me until I had to write it out. lol 🙂
    Thanks for the great compliment. 🙂

  2. daisyspinner said:

    You’ve captured one of those awkward should I-shouldn’t I moments beautifully.

  3. I like it 🙂

  4. Really? Wow…thanks…. It wasn’t really meant for people to read…you know you have a moment where your soul has something to say? That’s what happened. lol
    Thank you.
    And you are more than welcome to come back anytime…!
    I’ll be checking your blog, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

